Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Rondel Dagger Scabbard Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Sean Flynt

Reading list: 13 books

Spotlight topics: 7

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug, 2007 7:14 am    Post subject: Rondel Dagger Scabbard         Reply with quote

I've been wanting to tinker a bit more with my DIY rondel dagger from a couple of years ago
( http://www.myArmoury.com/talk/viewtopic.php?t...hlight=diy ). I stripped the grip wrap and stained the bare wood, as seems to be more historically appropriate. Since I've also been wanting to try scabbard-making, I made a scabbard for this dagger. It's my first attempt at such a project and it turned out better than I expected--better than the dagger, in fact.

This entire project is only vaguely historical. It's late 15th century-ish, but I make no claims to historical accuracy. I just made things up as I went along, with occasional reference to original pieces.

The scabbard core is poplar with two hemp risers and a cover of chamois. I shaped the core with a Sur-Form rasp, block plane and sand paper, in that order.