Hungarian Sword Identification
As a newbie here I also have a sword to identify. I have never seen it before.
[ Linked Image ]

Last edited by Shahril Dzulkifli on Fri 14 Dec, 2007 8:09 am; edited 2 times in total
Re: I Need to Identify Such Sword - Please Help
Shahril Dzulkifli wrote:
As a newbie here I also have a sword to identify. I have never seen it before.
[ Linked Image ]

Looks like the sabers used by the Mamluk. Not sure though.

M.
This sword is no Mameluke. Mameluke swords do not have thick blades. They have curved blades.

Last edited by Shahril Dzulkifli on Fri 14 Dec, 2007 7:51 am; edited 1 time in total
Hmm...looks like a Polish or Hungarian sword to me, but I don't know enough to say anything more than that. Seeing the breadth, it might also be an infantry hanger, although it might be a bit too long for that classification.

Anyone?

(Oh, BTW, wouldn't it be more appropriate to post a request for the identification of a different sword in a different topic? That way it may be able to gather more attention than when it's placed near the bottom of an old thread's page like this.)
Lafayette C Curtis wrote:
(Oh, BTW, wouldn't it be more appropriate to post a request for the identification of a different sword in a different topic? That way it may be able to gather more attention than when it's placed near the bottom of an old thread's page like this.)

Done. It is generally best to start a new thread for things like this.
Hello Shahril,

It reminds me very much of a sword I posted to another thread here somewhere. I'm afraid I don't recall the exact context or title, or I would point the way to it. This sword is listed as a Hungarian headsman's sword.

http://h1.ripway.com/Bombadil/mA/hhss.jpg