Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Irish dirk vs. Ballock dagger? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Ruel A. Macaraeg

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul, 2004 7:28 am    Post subject: Irish dirk vs. Ballock dagger?         Reply with quote

It's generally agreed that the Scottish dirk evolved from the contintenal ballock/kidney dagger, but with the Irish dirks I've seen the relationship is less apparent. What exactly is the historical connection between these three knives? Did the Irish dirk evolve:

* Independently of the ballock?
* Parallel with the Scottish dirk from the ballock? or
* Directly from the Scottish version?
Felix Wang

Reading list: 17 books

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul, 2004 7:52 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Interesting question. I have no specific knowledge of the skene / scian used by the Irish, but from what I have heard, it was long, single-edged, and the primary sidearm of the kern. It sounds rather like a sax, of the narrower build. As far as I know, it existed before the Scottish dirk, and even before the ballock dagger; so an independent origin seems most likely.
Ruel A. Macaraeg

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul, 2004 1:12 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Thanks Felix,

Yes, that's the gut feeling I get as well -- that the Irish knife at least looks more like a long saex than either a ballock or Scottish dirk. Do we know if it was gripped blade down ("icepick") like a ballock, or blade up like a short sword?
Peter Johnsson
Industry Professional

Reading list: 1 book

Spotlight topics: 3

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul, 2004 2:57 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Ruel,

Interesting question.
I do not know what the Irish knife looks like. Could you post a picture or a drawing?
Perhaps it belongs to another family rather than the Ballock daggers?