Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > My New Dirk/Dudgeon Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Sean Flynt

Reading list: 13 books

Spotlight topics: 7

PostPosted: Wed 13 Apr, 2005 7:27 am    Post subject: My New Dirk/Dudgeon         Reply with quote

Don't laugh! It's my first attempt at knifemaking. I made many mistakes, none of which were fatal and most of which are concealed by the antiquing (notice the botched peening). I can’t call this piece historically accurate because I’ve seen nothing exactly like it in the historical record. On the other hand, it does feature some historically accurate/plausible elements. So it wouldn’t be quite right to say that this is a fantasy piece. Since this is a common problem with replica arms and armour, I’ll suggest a new category—speculative. As a speculative piece, this dagger is my answer to the question “Assuming the dudgeon and dirk overlapped to some degree, what might a transitional type or hybrid look like?” This approach leaves room for imagination but requires research and concern for plausibility.

The challenge: I had to work with a medium length, double-edged blade of diamond cross-section AND keep the piece reasonably within my main period of interest—1550-1650. That pointed to dudgeon daggers of the first half of the 17th c., some of which had blades of this description, although these seem to have been much narrower than the one I used. My blade is closer to the width of later Scottish dirks, but those blades tend to be single-edged. So, I created a compromise design closer to dudgeon than dirk, but with some features of both. Blade and overall length seem to be more appropriate for a dudgeon. Like many early dirks, the curved base of the hilt does not have a metal plate between wood and blade.

Blade: Windlass Steelcrafts
Hilt, Assembly, Finish: Sean Flynt
OA Length: 12.75"