Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Stage fencer needs advice about best blunt sword choice Reply to topic
This is a standard topic Go to page 1, 2  Next 
Damien Pinel

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jul, 2005 6:35 am    Post subject: Stage fencer needs advice about best blunt sword choice         Reply with quote

Hi,

This is my first post and I must say I am quite intimidated. You all guys seem to carry such a science and knowledge of swords, and I am just an amateur who uses your object of passion, not even historically, but for the purpose of entertaining. This is what I do, creating shows implying fencing, for the beauty of it. This is the advantage of artistic fencing over olympic fencing... profane can see and decode what is happening, and take side if they will, etc.

Here comes my question. In our fencing school, we all have the same type of swords, roughly. They are coming either from Jiri Krondak, or Chevaliers d'Auvergne. I would like to get something... different, but usable in stage combat. I must say I need dedicated weapon, because we do a lot of this, 1 to 3 rehearsals a week and shows during the week-end. The weapons have to be made for stage combat.

Someone told me about Lutel, and I was impressed by the aspect of them on the pictures. Then I continued searching, and I found new names like A&A, Atrim, etc. and... Albion Swords, whom work I have been particularly impressed (not to say fascinated) by.

What would be the best choice, considering price, import to France practicality, and purely technical and logical stage fencing particularities I have just but mentionned, but which you can imagine ?

Do you think waiting for the new Albion Maestro Line is a good idea ? Should I try Lutel ? Or Atrim ? They all look and people say they feel superb ! Please help Happy.

Regards,