Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Off-topic Talk > First Custom Sword Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Alexander Hinman

Reading list: 50 books

PostPosted: Sat 08 Apr, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: First Custom Sword         Reply with quote

I'm fairly new to the hobby of arms and armour collecting, but am already interested in getting a custom sword.

I realise this is a fairly big step. I know custom swords are expensive, and do not have the comparatively short waiting period of more heavily-produced sword models. But I still think that it will be worth it, not only for the uniqueness of the product, but for a niche I want it to fill in my collection, for a very special 'buckler-sword' which none of the other makers really seem to meet.

Now, onto the main reason for this thread. I was wondering if anyone could help me, in any way, choose a custom maker, perhaps by suggesting where to look (I've already taken a peak at myArmoury's links page, but I know there's more out there), or perhaps how to look. I'm virtually in the dark in terms of swordsmith research, though I am considering visiting the Atlanta Blade Show, but scheduling issues may get in the way.

I would also be grateful if you could suggest what sort of information I should give a smith for a custom job. The 'base sword' I have in mind for the job is the one on the left here, with the square pommel.

However, since my goal is a weapon meant for sword-and-buckler, the slightly long blade may have to be 'cut down'. I want to give the smith free rein, but don't want to give the sword ahistorical (or downright weird) handling. Should I give the dimensions of a blade from another sword, or trust the smith's intuition?

Thanks,
Alex
Bill Grandy
myArmoury Team

myArmoury Team

Reading list: 43 books

Spotlight topics: 2

PostPosted: Sat 08 Apr, 2006 8:50 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote