myArmoury.com Bookstore

myArmoury Member Book Reviews

Showing 26 reviews submitted by Stanford B:



Total items in list: 26
Page 1 of 3 — Go to:  1  2  3   Next



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
Great clip art. Good collection of virews of arms and armour. Not the major scholarly work it could have been. Readable!.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
For the practicing iron worker and re-enactor this books will be a great resourse. It has given me a couple of useful tips. I am glad I bought it when it first hit the market.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



The Sword in Anglo-Saxon England: Its Archaeology and Literature
by Hilda Roderick Ellis Davidson

The Sword is closely associated with all that was most significant in a man's life in the Anglo-Saxon world: family ties, loyalty to a lord, the duties of a king, ...

I rated this item: 
Average myArmoury rating:  (8 votes)

* RECOMMENDED *

Show Details

Reviewed by Stanford B
A reasonable start for a research of Anglo-Saxon world. I have seen better works but not a better collection to start you off. Worth the effort and price to run down a copy.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



The Secret History of the Sword: Adventures in Ancient Martial Arts
by J Christopher Amberger

The Secret History of the Sword: Adventures in Ancient Martial Arts

I rated this item: 
Average myArmoury rating:  (12 votes)

* RECOMMENDED *

Show Details

Reviewed by Stanford B
I found this to be one of the best reads on swords. I laughed, I got startled by some of the authors glossing over academic points but it is still one of the great books on the topic. Wish mine had not benn "borrowed" and not returned.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
Another great resourse from Jim H. A must for those interested in more than the usual pictorial on pattern welding. This book goes into all the hows whys and you must do this of pattern welding.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
A great source for pictures for use in the classroom. I donated two copies to my school library.
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
Excellant work, Companion to Complete Bladesmith. A must for those thinking of or practicing bladesmithing. For the serious a required teaching guide!
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
My copy was borrowed and still not returned. I found that the scholarship within this book to be excellant. Clear concise scholarly readable. Worth the effort to find and buy!
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
Simple clear direct coverage of the topic. Not exhaustive or exhausting. Good read!
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Product Information Unavailable — Please try again later

Reviewed by Stanford B
I have two copies of this one is without it cover after 30 years of use. It is still the best of all my initial resources for writing about arms and armour. It is becoming a bit dated with some of the fresh researches going on but I don't care...this book comes first!
—Updated Apr 29, 2007



Total items in list: 26
Page 1 of 3 — Go to:  1  2  3   Next






Copyright © 2003-2019 myArmoury.com — All rights reserved

Trademarks used within the store are the property of their respective owners. Product details copyright Amazon.com.

myArmoury.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide
a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.