Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > wood sheaths vs. leather sheaths Reply to topic
This is a standard topic Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next 
Matthew D G

Reading list: 2 books

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov, 2007 4:30 pm    Post subject: wood sheaths vs. leather sheaths         Reply with quote

Hello, my name is Matthew.

I'm new to myArmoury and have a few questions. This may have already been discussed but I cannot find the information I'm looking for.

What are the pros and cons on leather sheaths vs. wood sheaths? What are your personal preferences?
Is one better than the other? What would offer the best protection?

I have read through many topics on sheaths and can't find any answers to these questions Sad so any help would be great. Thanks Happy
Elling Polden

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Tue 06 Nov, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Up until at least the renisance, wooden scabbards where more common. They offer better protection for the blade, and thick leather was expensive. Overall, are better for wear and storage.

Leather sheaths are generally better once the sword is drawn. They are less in the way, and wooden scabbards might break under combat conditions.

Yours truly was quite happy with his nice, new, historical wooden scabard, which he used for a aproximate 30 minutes before rolling down into a ditch and breaking it during a forest skirmish...
However, if you do not intend to wear the scabbard in combat, this isn't as much of a concern.

and, oh, welcome to the forum Happy

"this [fight] looks curious, almost like a game. See, they are looking around them before they fall, to find a dry spot to fall on, or they are falling on their shields. Can you see blood on their cloths and weapons? No. This must be trickery."
-Reidar Sendeman, from King Sverre's Saga, 1201
Matthew D G