Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Why are western sword tangs so narrow? Reply to topic
This is a standard topic Go to page 1, 2  Next 
Richard Chapman

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr, 2004 11:26 am    Post subject: Why are western sword tangs so narrow?         Reply with quote

I ask the question because of several recent threads about how one should always look
at the tang before buying a sword, accounts of swords breakage at the tang, etc. Why are they made
that way? I am not an expert in Japanese swords either, but they seem to _never_ break
at the tang, and you can see why -- the tang is so beefy. I can't imagine that cost is the
reason for narrow tangs, so why?

I searched for a while and didn't find this discussed, but I do apologize if this is something
that is regularly discussed that I have missed.

-Richard
Timothy Gulics

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Tue 13 Apr, 2004 11:44 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Well, from my experience...

Japanese swords often had a tang that did not run the entire length of the handle, but instead 3/4 of the way. It also did not 'fill' the handle like today's more modern "full tang" knives or swords (which have a thick tang with two wood or plastic scales pinned to either side). The wide tang on a Japanese sword is also a result of the overall blade thickness - katana blades are fairly narrow compared to, oh, a western broadsword.

Western tangs need to be more narrow than the blade so that you can fit your hand around them (and they handle they are contained within). However, the tang should not be extremely skinny, as they are in many cheap/wallhanger swords out there. That is simply an example of a company trying to cut production costs.

Here is a good example of a nice tang:

That's the Albion Next Generation Gaddhjalt, a "viking" sword.

The sword is my companion.