Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Modern vs. Period Tang Construction Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Nate C.

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jun, 2004 10:21 pm    Post subject: Modern vs. Period Tang Construction         Reply with quote

Greetings all,
I am curious about the comparison between modern methods of tang construction as compared with period methods. I am new to the "real" sword world although I have been sport fencing for quite a while. as a newcommer to this realm, the variety of methods used today are a bit confusing. Is a welded tang a viable option, or are one piece weapons more desirable?

Thanks,

Nate C.

Sapere Aude
"If you are going to kill the man, at least give him a decent salute." - A. Blansitt

If they ever come up with a Swashbuckling School, I think one of the courses should be Laughing, then Jumping Off Something. --Jack Handy
Andy Bain

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun, 2004 2:05 am    Post subject:         Reply with quote

Typically you want to avoid welded tangs like the plague. However, some makers can make a strong welded tang. Check out www.lutel.cz and have a look at the pictures of how they construct their welded tangs. I have yet to hear about someone having a problem with one of their tangs.
Jason Dingledine

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun, 2004 3:42 am    Post subject: Re: Modern vs. Period Tang Construction         Reply with quote

Nate C. wrote:
Greetings all,
I am curious about the comparison between modern methods of tang construction as compared with period methods. I am new to the "real" sword world although I have been sport fencing for quite a while. as a newcommer to this realm, the variety of methods used today are a bit confusing. Is a welded tang a viable option, or are one piece weapons more desirable?

Thanks,

Hey Nate,