Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > Assyrian long sword Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Julian Bickers

PostPosted: Sat 05 Mar, 2011 7:06 am    Post subject: Assyrian long sword         Reply with quote

Hi, forum and site noob here so apologies in advance if this has been covered before.

I'm looking for the name, details and characteristics of the Assyrian long sword. I've seen some chatter on this site about the Assyrian Sappara but from looking at the orthostats in the British Museum taken from Nineveh and elsewhere the infantry are clearly armed with a long, straight sword. This appears to have been quite heavy as it was supported not just by a belt but a shoulder strap also and, interestingly, seems to be a side arm.

I see nothing else like this in other cultures at the same time and place.

Any ideas?
Sander Alsters

PostPosted: Sun 06 Mar, 2011 1:40 am    Post subject: Longsword         Reply with quote

Hi Julian,

from what I've been reading from the book Arms and Amours from Iran written by Manouchehr Moshtagh Khorasani, there were indeed longswords used in that time. He discripes mostly Achemenian and Median Akenakes and other different daggers and swords. Although their timeperiod is'nt that far appart, maybe its safe to assume swords didn't change that much.

He discripes findings of longswords from about 54 to 59 cm. The others are much shorter. One of them is nicely decorated with steel and bronze nails. They use wood for the grip and mostly mushroom or crescent shaped pommels.

There are others in his book though, I will discripe you a sword from an excavation in Amarlu(Northern Iran). It was the longest I could find atm.

The sword is from around 1000BC. It lays in the national museum of Iran. (inventory number:1284m).