Info Favorites Register Log in
myArmoury.com Discussion Forums

Forum index Memberlist Usergroups Spotlight Topics Search
Forum Index > Historical Arms Talk > My new Darkwood rapier with two hilts Reply to topic
This is a standard topic  
Vincent Le Chevalier

Reading list: 15 books

Spotlight topics: 1

PostPosted: Sat 21 Apr, 2007 12:04 pm    Post subject: My new Darkwood rapier with two hilts         Reply with quote

Hello everyone!

Two weeks ago I received my new rapier from Darkwood Armory, and today I finally took the time to snap a few photos of it...

I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to rapiers, so this will not be a detailed review since I can't really compare it with anything. I ordered this sword as a practice weapon, that is, something that I will not be afraid to scratch, bend, and watch television casually with Happy

I have two rapier manuals here, and I wanted something compatible with both. These are Girard Thibault's Académie de l'Espée and Tom Leoni's translation of Salvator Fabris' Lo Schermo, overo Scienza d'Arme. Thibault is a lot more specific than Fabris about the weapon, so it was my main reference here. Finally, given my stature, I went with a 42 inches bated rapier blade.

The biggest concern was the hilt. My artistic preference drives me to a swept hilt, but as discussed in this thread, there are doubts about the possibility of Thibault's moves with anything other than a half-hilt (due to the special hand position he advocates).

In a spirit of conciliation, I decided to order both Big Grin So I chose a 3 ring swept I guard and a two-port cross guard I, according to Darkwood's terminology. Other details include acorn pommel, wire wrapping and straight quillons with three-lobed tips. I sticked with the standard finish as it was not meant to be ornemental at all.